To create new wiki account, please join us on #znc at freenode and ask admins to create a wiki account for you. You can say thanks to spambots for this inconvenience.

Difference between revisions of "Detaching"

From ZNC
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "{{Languages|Detaching}}{{DISPLAYTITLE:Detaching}} Detaching is a useful feature for keeping some channel attributes (OP, topic, ...) for a channel while you don't need it at ...")
 
(Usage: New way to send detach commands)
 
(2 intermediate revisions by one other user not shown)
Line 3: Line 3:
 
Detaching is a useful feature for keeping some channel attributes (OP, topic, ...) for a channel while you don't need it at the moment. Also, this can avoid distractions from high-traffic channels when you still want to catch messages in other channels. To your client it will look like you parted the channel, but in fact you have not.
 
Detaching is a useful feature for keeping some channel attributes (OP, topic, ...) for a channel while you don't need it at the moment. Also, this can avoid distractions from high-traffic channels when you still want to catch messages in other channels. To your client it will look like you parted the channel, but in fact you have not.
  
The [[autoattach]] module can re-attach you to a channel once there is activity.
+
The [[autoattach]] module can re-attach you to a channel whenever there is activity.
 +
 
 +
The user contributed [[:Category:External_Modules|external module]] [[Highlightattach]] can be used to re-attach whenever your nick is mentioned.
  
 
=== Usage ===
 
=== Usage ===
Channels can be detached in two ways:
+
Channels can be detached in three ways:
 
  /detach #chan
 
  /detach #chan
 
  /quote detach #chan
 
  /quote detach #chan
 +
/msg *status detach #chan
  
 
A simple join will reattach you:
 
A simple join will reattach you:
 
  /join #chan
 
  /join #chan

Latest revision as of 19:25, 21 May 2015

Detaching is a useful feature for keeping some channel attributes (OP, topic, ...) for a channel while you don't need it at the moment. Also, this can avoid distractions from high-traffic channels when you still want to catch messages in other channels. To your client it will look like you parted the channel, but in fact you have not.

The autoattach module can re-attach you to a channel whenever there is activity.

The user contributed external module Highlightattach can be used to re-attach whenever your nick is mentioned.

Usage[edit]

Channels can be detached in three ways:

/detach #chan
/quote detach #chan
/msg *status detach #chan

A simple join will reattach you:

/join #chan